Schools Week Featured Jobs

FE Week Featured Jobs

All Education Jobs In One Place

Education Week Jobs is a calibration between the two “go-to” news sources in education, Schools Week and FE Week. By joining forces, we are able to provide you with all of the best education jobs in one website, with one log in, and one profile. Use our in-depth education jobs search functionality to find and apply for your next role and if you cannot find what you are looking for today then make sure you sign up for our Job Alerts which will mean you will be the first to know when the right job does become available.

Setting up a profile with us could not be easier, simply complete our registration for and upload your CV and you will be ready to start applying for your next job in education today.

About Schools Week

Schools Week

Schools Week is read widely by headteachers, governors, business managers and the education leaders of the future. Established in 2014, our weekly print newspaper is now read by around 22,000 education managers and sector stakeholders, and 1.4 million unique users visited our website in 2015-16. We have quickly become the “go-to” news source for reliable education journalism, with a formidable reputation for hard-hitting investigations, breaking news and expert analysis.

About FE Week

FE Week

FE Week is the premier news source for the further education, apprenticeships and skills sector, with a reputation for breaking news, investigations and expert analysis that is second to none. Our weekly newspaper is read by over 10,000 education managers and sector stakeholders and over 75,000 people access our website on a monthly basis. Trust is essential, and our readers know that FE Week provides an unrivalled platform for sharing accurate, timely information.

Education News

Grammar school expansion money ‘won’t improve outcomes’

The expansion of grammar schools is “unlikely to bring benefits for young people” as selective schools do not offer better social, emotional or educational outcomes than non-selective establishments. Instead of encouraging existing grammar schools to expand, the government should focus its funding on improving education “for all young people”, according to a new study. Earlier this month, the government launched renewed calls for grammar schools to take advantage of a £200 million expansion fund, set up in 2016 to cover capital costs for new classrooms. In exchange, they must widen access to disadvantaged pupils. However, analysis of pupils’ attainment, engagement and wellbeing at school and their future aspirations by the UCL Institute of Education found that attending a grammar school had “no positive impact” on pupils’ self-esteem, attitude to school, future aspirations or vocabulary at age 14. The study analysed data from 883 pupils in England and 733 in Northern Ireland who had similar academic achievements at primary school and came from families with similar incomes and education levels. All the pupils selected were from the Millennium Cohort Study, which follows the lives of around 19,000 children born in the UK between 2000 and 2001. Researchers compared the results of tests children had...

Ofsted considers its options on lesson observation

Ofsted is evaluating six international lesson observation models as it considers how to rate schools from next year. The watchdog’s inspectors will follow a new inspection framework from September 2019, and Ofsted is currently critically evaluating its current lesson observation practice as it prepares the new document. Lesson observation is a “fundamental part of inspection that deserves focused attention” but must “keep pace” with “significant developments” seen in international practice in recent years, the inspectorate says in a new report published today. In a foreword, chief inspector Amanda Spielman said the international models “provide a number of areas for Ofsted to investigate as we develop our new framework and refine how we evaluate quality of teaching”. The report noted that Ofsted does not grade teachers, but rather uses observation as part of an overall judgement, and said any change to lesson observation “needs to be done with this whole-school context in mind”. Although it measures pupil learning, this measure was absent from all six international approaches which felt that learning is “invisible and happens over a long period of time. It is not something that can be directly observed.” The inspectorate will now “reflect further” before deciding how the models can...

Strike called off at Bradford College after voluntary redundancy concession

Strike action at Bradford College has been called off at the last minute, after it agreed to reopen its voluntary redundancy scheme. Members of the University and College Union who work at the college, which was hit with two financial notices to improve in recent months and was bailed out twice in December, had been due to walk out tomorrow in a row over plans to slash up to 75 jobs. But according to an announcement from the UCU, the college will reopen its voluntary redundancy scheme until Friday and look at the best way to redeploy staff at risk of redundancy, following what the union described as “positive discussions”. And a joint email to all staff from Chris Jones, the chief executive, and Mark Dunkerley, the chair of the UCU branch at the college, sent on Friday and shared with FE Week, said that these “further actions will avoid the need for compulsory redundancies for lecturers”. Julie Kelley, another UCU regional official, said the union was “pleased” the college had “listened to members’ concerns and agreed to rethink its approach to job cuts”. “We will continue to engage closely with the college to ensure staff are redeployed where possible, avoid compulsory...

Team UK picks 22 of the best for EuroSkills Budapest

Apprentices from BAE Systems, Toyota and a Michelin star restaurant are among 22 of the country’s most skilled young people – selected to represent the UK at EuroSkills Budapest 2018. The team will fly to Hungary to battle it out against Europe’s best between September 26 and 28, in a broad spectrum of disciplines including heavy truck maintenance, floristry, mechatronics and welding. It will be a “life-enhancing opportunity for these remarkable young people”, according to Dr Neil Bentley, the chief executive of WorldSkills UK, the organisation that selects and trains Team UK. It will be a life-enhancing opportunity for these remarkable young people To win a place in the team, learners battled through an exhaustive selection process after excelling in the prestigious WorldSkills UK national competitions, the finals of which are held at WorldSkills UK LIVE – formerly known as The Skills Show. Twenty-seven other countries will compete in EuroSkills Budapest in over 30 different disciplines. Around 80,000 spectators, including European policy-makers, educators and industry experts are expected to attend. Dr Bentley believes the competition, which is the last before the UK is scheduled to leave the EU next year, is vital for the economic future success of the country....